Sara B

Over the last couple of weeks we’ve had the assignment to pick a word and then take at least 5 seconds of video that represents that word. What we would do with all that footage is learn how to express what we want in a video in a future workshop.

I ended up having a hard time coming up with my word. I thought about my favorite words: incognito, bliss, remarkable. None of them seemed to be working for me when it came to thinking about what I could film and if I wanted to create a video out of it.

Did I want something happy, magical, or did I want to bring tears to my viewers? I couldn’t make a decision so I just started filming things.

Over the course of the 4 weeks we had to take footage, I used approximately 3 days and took about 15 small videos. I already knew going into today that I wouldn’t have enough video but hopefully something would inspire me.

The other part of the assignment was to find a song that also fit your word. I thought a good idea was to find a song first and then maybe that song could inspire the word. Not being great at finding good underground songs (I somehow end up loving pop), I went to the one artist that I know and love who I thought could really make my video artsy fartsy, Regina Spektor.

I listened to every song of hers on my iPod and on YouTube. Musicbox and Consequence of Sound were the only ones that had any promise with their sound but their words were kinda Debbie Downers. So back to square one.

I came to the workshop not really prepared and thought I’d just get the basic concepts so I can take the knowledge with me in the future. I had other things I could be doing so it would be no big deal if I stepped out.

Turns out when I opened up my computer this morning I had editing software on my computer (another reason I thought I couldn’t really participate) and because I was waiting around for the workshop to start (ahem) I put on the newest Sara Bareilles songs and wha-la! I new I had my song for the video.

The workshop involved both tribes and the Knowmadic Learning Lab and when you get in a group with the right mix of people things can get pretty hilarious. I laughed my butt off today because of Tom, Geoffrey, Sander and Laura. It was a much needed laughter too. I honestly don’t think I’ve laughed this hard since I’ve been in the Netherlands. Everyone brought their comedy A game; it literally brought tears to my eyes.

When it came to editing my video, my only objective was to create a video that fit the length of my new favorite song. That way I could listen to my song over and over and over again (as I was already doing) and watch the beautiful footage I captured of Amsterdam.

With the limited time we had in editing, I did somehow end up managing to accomplish my goal however some would say the consequence was that there was a lack of editing. Nonetheless, I think I entertained my audience for the 5 mins and 22seconds. I even heard 2 people say “Play it again!” But go figure, they were just on top of their comedic powers.

I cannot post the video here due to my basic WordPress subscription. So please click here to watch my video. If anything, just enjoy the music and the Amsterdam scenes if you’ve never been here. You may even get a kick out of the randomness of the clips. I believe there really is something in this video for everyone so give it a chance 🙂

Leave a comment